Posted by: mcm180 | February 25, 2011

finding the golden part of silence

Before you speak, listen.
Before you write, think.
Before you spend, earn.
Before you criticize, wait.
Before you pray, forgive.
…Before you quit, try.
Before you retire, save.
Before you die, give.
~ William Arthur Ward

After a rowdy, “crowdy”, and tumultuously eventful weekend, in which everything seems to have been tossed up in the air (including my precious smartphone), … now …. I’m left with golden serene silence.

My paternal grandmother passed away on Tuesday 2/22/11 – my EVO fell off the belt clip on Saturday during my first outing this weekend, causing me to miss my second party; but continue .. I did. I went to two more parties, and hung out until Monday afternoon. I even hurt my right ring finger (breaking my fall on wet stairs). Then my phone was found but then lost again, when I went to the club to retrieve it. My director who’s supported my ascent in the company told me he put in his two weeks; followed by another IT member who I share office space with, informing me of the same. I spent all day Wednesday running errands and was enveloped by introspective silence. How could I not? If it’s not a text (with my morse code ringtone), it’s an FB update, or a gmail, or a yahoo mail, or a tweet, or friends location check-in, or a bank account alert, ….it’s always something.

I resisted being “cut-off” at first, but purposefully kept twitter & facebook, how shall I say… “light”. I also upset one of my closest friends adding more silence …forcing me to reach inward; to sojourn solo. I took the therapeutic opportunity to clean, do dishes, sweep and mop, and now write (as suggested by soulbrother Louie).

I had already decided that after the weekend, I would make some changes, shift priorities, focus and fight. Fight for what I deserve, focus on where I want to be, prioritize what is important; ultimately change some behavior. “Be careful what you ask for”, is quite the understatement. Actually experiencing the Universe at work, whether you are fully ready or not, always take some getting used to… until you get on board, that is. Trusting that you will hear a message, benefit from a significant drop in distractions, or tap into a powerful inner self who needs silence in order to create a better and stronger you, is what I presumed (and now realize) is the very essence of meditation. I’d been meaning to set aside time to start that. LOL

The quote at the top, cosmically enough, summarizes the rambling of my verbose paragraphs that follow. The succinct sentences non-judgmentally delineate the importance, the beauty, the necessity, and the power of silence and the meditation it allows.

Leave a Reply

Categories

